Upgrade to a Bride's Maid!

Blush and Bashful

Truvy:    What are your colors, Shelby?
Shelby:   They’re ‘blush’ and ‘bashful’.
M’Lynn:  Her colors are ‘pink’ and ‘pink’.
………
Shelby:   My colors are blush and bashful. I have chosen two shades of pink, one is much deeper than the other.
………
M’Lynn:  It <church> looks like it’s been hosed down in Pepto Bismol.
Shelby:   I like pink.  Pink is my signature color.  
Steel Magnolias, 1989

We’ve all seen this, right? If this little snippet doesn’t make you fondly think of a bleedin’ armadilla groom’s cake, Ouiser Boudreaux and the wonderfully snarky comment “Looks like two pigs, fightin’ under a blanket”, then immediately click over to Netflix.com to add Steel Magnolias to your queue.

You’re getting married and you like pink.  Pink may or may not be your signature color but you’d like to incorporate it into your palette without that whole Pepto Bismol theme appearing.  As much as we all loved Shelby Eatenton Latcherie, let’s use her as an example of what NOT to do and instead use these as inspiration:

Pink and Orange – Beautiful combination, especially for a warm-weather outdoor celebration.  Be careful when planning out your details, though, that it doesn’t become “cutesy”.  Keep it elegant by choosing either pink or orange as your dominant color and accenting with the other.


Pink and Gray –  Who woulda thunk it?! Well I should have! When I was 15 I insisted on having my bedroom painted gray even though my mother refused to get rid of the pink carpet.  I was so ahead of my time.  I love that it’s understated and not too girly, but very sophisticated (the wedding palette, not my teenage bedroom). 


Pink and Red – This is as close as I’ll let you get to “blush and bashful”.  If done correctly this color combo is very striking.  Keep it from looking like St. Valentine exploded by using a deep hot pink instead of baby pink, and stay away from hearts.

Twenty-one years later Steel Magnolias is still great.  Pink weddings are great.  A red velvet armadillo can even be great – just stay away from blush and bashful.

2 responses

  1. Loving that pink & grey!

    June 23, 2010 at 12:04 AM

    • Isn’t it pretty? When I saw it I had a big “Duh!” moment.

      June 23, 2010 at 12:54 AM

Leave a Reply

