Upgrade to a Bride's Maid!

Lisa’s Cakes

If you are lucky enough to live in, near, or around Westminster, S.C. then I have good news for you!  There is a cake baker/decorator in Westminster that makes beautiful cakes – wedding, birthday, shower, you name it – out of the Waters’ Cafe for very fair prices.  Although I don’t live in South Carolina I still consider myself lucky because I call this wonderful cake maker – Lisa – my friend.

She’s been doing wedding cakes for about 10 years and decorated cakes for over 20, deciding to get “serious” in time to make a cake for her little brother’s first birthday (he’s 22 now). 

I love this story:
A couple of years ago Lisa met with the mother of twin brides-to-be. Like most girls, they’d had their wedding and all the details planned for years, including the fact that it would be a double wedding!  When discussing cakes it was discovered they had two very different styles… and not just with the cake.  The double wedding went down the tubes; the older twin (by 6 minutes) would be married on May 23 and the younger twin would have her wedding on May 30. That poor mother! So Lisa met with them individually as the weddings drew nearer and was astonished at the cakes each asked her to create:

Looks like their styles and tastes were a little more similar than originally thought?

Lisa also makes really cool Groom’s cakes.  She told me she often has moments of “Why did I say I would do this?” but loves seeing the look on the recipient’s face when she delivers the final product.  I bet there are lots of grooms who never thought they would be so happy with a cake!

This Butterfinger Groom’s cake is one of her favorites:

This purse cake is another of Lisa’s favorite creations:

The mixing, baking, shaping, and frosting have become a mindless second nature to Lisa.  Making the cakes are her therapy.  (I wish my own mindless activities were this productive and good-looking!)

Lisa is so good she doesn’t even need to market or advertise! All of her customers come from friends, word of mouth, or from the Waters’ Cafe.  She does have a Facebook page though, if anybody would like to consult her about a cake.  If you live in the vicinity I hope you will; if you don’t then I hope you enjoyed seeing her cakes! Thank you, Lisa, for sharing!

4 responses

  1. Kim

    She deserves all these accolades, and then some. Not only are her cakes beautiful, so is her spirit.

    Kim

    June 28, 2010 at 1:18 PM

  2. Anita (SkeeterN)

    I agree that Lisa is an amazing artist with her beautiful cakes. Thank you for blogging about her.

    June 28, 2010 at 1:29 PM

  3. Wow these are all gorgeous!

    June 28, 2010 at 4:44 PM

Leave a Reply

