Upgrade to a Bride's Maid!

Brent Loves Nicole, Circa 1997

[Personal]

{All that I’m after is a life full of laughter, as long as I’m laughing with you}

Thirteen years ago I started my very first job, at the local movie theater.  It was the summer before my senior year in high school and life was wonderful.  I had a little spending money, lots of new friends, and soon I’d be graduating and galloping out of this one-horse town. 

One of my co-workers was “this guy”.  He was 20, home for the summer from Virginia Tech, and working at the theater as a 2nd job.  He was insanely loud.  He was incredibly obnoxious.  He intimidated the heck out of me. But he was really hot and drove a really cool Camaro. 

Within two months I was completely head-over-heels-stupid in love.  When you’re 17 that’s the best kind to be, right? Apparently the feeling was mutual because from July 25 on we were inseparable… you know, except for when he went back to college. And then I went to college.  And then I moved to Chicago.  And today we celebrate 13 years of choosing to be together through all of that. 

Here are a few pictures of us from back in 1997 – no laughing!

3 responses

  1. In 1997 I was 13. 🙂 Cute pics! July is a good month.

    July 26, 2010 at 4:13 PM

    • You are dead to me.

      LOL! Well, I was 16 up until 2 weeks before we started dating. Stop making me feel old!

      July 26, 2010 at 4:20 PM

  2. AHHH!!! Even more than I love that sheer-back dress you have on (and I love it a LOT)…I’m going nuts over the fact that you both worked at and fell in love at a movie theater!

    From one ex-theater-employee to another: Is that not the best job to have in high school & college or WHAT?! And all the cutest boys worked there. I could seriously go on for days. Days!

    July 28, 2010 at 4:08 PM

Leave a Reply

