Upgrade to a Bride's Maid!

Local Love – Cake Edition

A million and a half years ago- when I was young- I worked in customer service for the DC area’s largest limo company.  My favorite things ever** were conversations that went like this:

Me:  Hello! This is Nicole, how may I help you? {Read it with a chipper voice, please}
Customer: Yeah, I need to schedule a car pick up for tomorrow morning. {Why are you so angry?!}
Me: OK great.  And where will our chauffeur be picking you up?
Customer: At my house.
Me: Um….ok….and where will we be taking you?
Customer: To the airport.

In most cities that final answer is perfectly acceptable.  The airport is the airport.  Not in D.C.!  Our metro area is so important (don’t laugh) that we have three airports within easy reach.  Our importance has even landed us on the reality tv map – with cake. 

It started with Duff and the great team over at Charm City Cakes in Baltimore.  Their creations are amazing; everyone near and far clamored to get the next great thing from the “Ace of Cakes”.  Now you would be lucky if you could reserve them for your not-yet-thought-about granddaughter’s wedding in 2060. 

Charm City Cakes

Next came the oh-so-talented sisters of Georgetown Cupcake.  Yes, we locals already knew they were cupcake goddesses but the magic of the small screen has somehow made them even more amazing.  Last month TLC started airing “DC Cupcakes” and now our secret is out.  If you’re local, make all your friends jealous and  consult with them for your wedding.  If you’re not local, make all your friends jealous by having these delivered to your door.

This menu would make Jillian Michaels drool.

And now…… now we have Maggie LaBaugh.  She’s not on TV – yet – but her work is definitely worthy.  A ballerina-turned-pastry-chef, Maggie runs Magpie’s Cake and stole my heart with this blurb on her website:

{With the subtle yet unmistakable mark of haute couture, Magpie’s Cake is the cake for those who will not settle for “off the rack”.}

And then I saw her cakes.  *Thud*

Magpie’s Cake

She will even make you sugar cookies that compliment your cake, as favors for your guests. I think I love her.

If your wedding is in the DC Metro area – who did you hire to make your sweet treats?

PS – We’re also lucky** enough to have the “Real Housewives of DC”… that’s nothing to brag about, though.

**Sarcasm

7 responses

  1. I love watching Ace of Cakes. Geoff is my favorite. 🙂 I watched DC Cupcakes…I hope their cupcakes are better than their show.

    August 18, 2010 at 11:33 AM

  2. GASPING at those CAKES!!! They are amazing!!!!

    August 18, 2010 at 12:01 PM

  3. Yummmy! Cake & cupcakes…I could have one everyday. We have a great cupcake place in San Diego and I am always temepted to try every flavor…one at a time!

    August 18, 2010 at 12:27 PM

  4. Alicia

    I could go for one of those cupcakes right this second. Or possibly several of them! And the ruffley cakes are beyond amazing.

    August 18, 2010 at 6:39 PM

  5. Jess A

    We used Sherry’s Cakes and Bakes for a party – I WISH I had used her for my wedding.

    She is an artist through and through. I love her.

    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Sherrys-Cakes-Bakes-LLC/275352829106#!/photo.php?pid=3314570&id=275352829106&ref=fbx_album

    August 24, 2010 at 9:31 AM

  6. DJ

    Those cakes by Magpie are DIVINE. OMG. The top middle one — THAT is what Hilary Duff’s wedding planner should have suggested!! It looks SO vintage chic lovely. I want to get married JUST for that cake.

    August 25, 2010 at 4:58 PM

    • I know I’m totally in lurve with Magpie! They are *just* launched though – and in DC – so I doubt Hil’s totally incompetent wedding planner could’ve pulled that off.

      August 25, 2010 at 5:27 PM

Leave a Reply

