Upgrade to a Bride's Maid!

Two For One

As in, one blog post but two fabulous ideas that make me want to throw myself another wedding.

A photo booth is all the reception rage right now, and I think it’s brilliant.  It’s fun for the guests – who get to take home a souvenir – and the newlyweds get some fantastic shots of their friends.  In some cases ‘fantastic’ might mean raunchy, lewd, inappropriate… in other words, worth every penny. 😉 

But if you can’t quite sneak the booth into your budget here’s a great alternative – a caricaturist!  Hiring an artist for a couple hours to sketch you and your friends is incredibly unique, creates a fun memory to take home, and more than likely will cost you a fraction of what a photo booth would.  Be warned, though: Have a sense of humor or forget it! 

Spot On George

Jon Casey Caricatures

Caricatures by Colin

Granted, the caricatures idea is not for everyone…. but I bet this will be….

On this day, Thirsty Thursday, let us honor the dessert martini.  It will make you feel like a very sufficient, organized, multi-tasking bride to combine your signature drink  and a sweet treat – um, right. Yeah!  Let’s stick with that line of thinking. Did you know calories don’t count when they’re taken with alcohol? 🙂 

Here’s a featured drink with recipe for our upcoming fall brides!

Pumpkin Pie Martini:

 

Mix 1 oz. Vanilla Vodka, ½ oz. Licor 43, 1 oz. pumpkin liqueur, ½ oz. Bailey’s Irish Cream, a splash butterscotch Schnapps and ice. Shake, then pour and sprinkle with ¼ tsp. pumpkin pie spice. For added “pie” effect, rim the glass with fresh lemon juice and crushed graham crackers

 

 

 

 

 

And a few more for your viewing pleasure (Maybe tasting pleasure, later on? If so call me. I’ll help you taste test!)

Clockwise from top left: Chocolate, Key Lime Pie, White Chocolate Raspberry, Gingerbread, Creme Brulee, Cannoli, and White Chocolate Peppermint.

I swear when I typed out the Pumpkin Pie Martini recipe I could smell it.  Please don’t think I’m weird and stop reading my blog.

So do either of these ideas work for you and your wedding?

7 responses

  1. We had key lime martinis at our wedding as our signature drink! It was our favorite drink from the restaurant where we had our first date 🙂

    August 26, 2010 at 1:44 AM

    • So cute Annie! I don’t like key lime pie but I have a feeling I WOULD like a key lime pie martini. Weird.

      August 26, 2010 at 3:54 PM

  2. Alicia

    Pumpkin pie martini?!? That sounds so amazing and would cause so many problems for me. I don’t think I could cut myself off.

    August 26, 2010 at 12:08 PM

    • We are in the same boat, sister. I think it might be worth the consequences though…

      August 26, 2010 at 3:55 PM

  3. We need to find a place to drink those pumpkin pie ones in October! 🙂

    August 26, 2010 at 3:46 PM

    • Yes ma’am!! I might just know a place.

      August 26, 2010 at 3:55 PM

  4. YUMMMMMMMY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Pumpkin pie martini sounds like something I must have right now and for the coming months of fall.

    And I really like the caricature idea. Um really, really cute. I just know I’d find the one creepy one who made the guests uncomfortable.

    August 26, 2010 at 3:55 PM

Leave a Reply

