Upgrade to a Bride's Maid!

Manic Monday!

Yep, just another. 

First of all, I’m super sorry for missing the usual “Friday Pretties” post but the money-paying portion of business demanded my attention.  After all, when the time comes won’t you prefer your coordinator skip the daily blog post and spend time catering to you? 🙂 But don’t worry, today will be a mash up of Pretties and Uglies. 

Second of all – I have been obsessed with this Katy Perry song for about a week now.  I think I love it because it reminds me of being young and in summer love, and not having a worry in the world.  It’s also a fantastic wedding reception song as it moves from slow to upbeat but always feels…romantic.  This is how it makes me feel:

What’s been your favorite song of this summer?

Now…. on to Dresses of the Day – Emmys Edition!  This will also, obviously, contain the “Uglies” portion of the post.  Look – I can only imagine the horribly difficult job it must be to always be on the hunt for a new, perfect, gorgeous, hip, stylish, stunning dress to wear to your next awards show (Whatever! Dream job!) but it’s like some of these actresses just fell into the closest pile of Ugly, slapped on a diamond necklace, and hopped in a limo to the Emmys.  *Holy Run-on-Sentence Batman!* 

Let’s start with the Pretty.  These two ladies tied for “Best” in my opinion:

Lea Michele in Oscar de la Renta  |  Keri Russell in vintage Scherrer and Jimmy Choo shoes

These were my other favorites of the night:

And about that pile of Ugly – this topped it (basically every dress in blue):

That middle one just looks like a bad prom dress!

The trend of the night was definitely GLITTER!

I loved the glitter…. except for on Wanda. And don’t anybody hate me! I love Wanda, just not the dress.

WORST DRESSED COUPLE, BY FAR!

Other couples of note:

Deb and Dexter look fantastic (is anybody else still a little weirded out that they’re married?!) while the vampire newlyweds are 50/50 – Stephen Moyer looks delicious but Anna’s dress looks a bit like a suit of armor.

I have so much more to say – I didn’t even mention Jewel’s matronly mess or Christina Hendricks’ boobalicious ensemble! You’ll just have to Google those as I’ve rambled on long enough about things that aren’t even wedding related!

Tell me what you thought of the Emmys! And the wonderful things you did this weekend! Hopefully later today and on into the week I can get back to the important stuff – wedding stuff.  Make it a good one!

4 responses

  1. It kinda creeped me out how attached Anna and her new husband were. I’m all about being close to your love but gees…give them room to breathe!

    PS, we so have the same faves. 🙂

    August 30, 2010 at 9:44 AM

  2. This is a FAB post. I didn’t watch the Emmy’s so I Love seeing all of these recaps! I really like aka LOVE Lea Michelle’s gown. It’s super sexy and super flattering. and girl, I couldn’t agree more about the worst dressed couple. That dress is black/pink vomit.

    August 30, 2010 at 11:56 AM

  3. I LOVED Claire Danes’ dress! I missed all the red carpet action last night but I know you have to be right when you say they are THE WORST DRESSED COUPLE! What a hideous mess!

    August 30, 2010 at 11:56 AM

  4. I agree with Angela! Claire Danes looks amazing! Definitely my favorite. I also thought Jane Lynch looked great!

    September 1, 2010 at 1:01 PM

Leave a Reply

