Upgrade to a Bride's Maid!

Thursday Purseday! [Guest Post]

{From NW}  Where in the world is Nicole today? Half Moon Cay, Bahamas!  I am missing my blog and Twitter terribly, though…No really, I am.  Maybe tonight I’ll fire up the lapto-  oh wait, my Mai Thai is here.  Enjoy today’s guest blogger, the always hilarious Alison at  Bride_Flu!

Hello Niche White readers! I’m thrilled to be a guest blogger this week! I am a huge Niche fan and I think I won her over to my blog because I once wrote about the joy of period farts. (Don’t worry. I’m not going to talk about them here. But man, they do suck and God bless my fiancé for loving me despite them.)

My wedding is 7 months and three weeks away and recently my fiancé and I met with our florist. Now, unlike many brides, I am terrible with flowers. My fiancé loves Calla Lilies so I do know what those are, and roses are pretty obvious. But otherwise, I’m lost. If it has petals and stems I tell you it’s a flower, but that’s about it. 

 We have to sign the contract soon so I want to know what brides with real flower expertise think about the following combination for our centerpieces:

 “Calla Lilies, Imported Roses, Ranunculus and Dahlias in shades of White, Mango and Yellow. Finished with select foliage for depth and texture.”

 Does that sound good? Any suggestions? Somebody please help me! Seriously, I’m clueless.

 Okay, I wanted to find something fashionable and eco-friendly to share with the good readers of Niche White. Recently, I attended an event for women who own small businesses where I met Marty Stevens-Heebner, founder and creator of Rebagz. I was instantly impressed with her company and her vision.

 Rebagz are made using some very clever recycled materials including juice packs, PET plastics and, my personal favorite, nylon rice sacks. Plus, they are all made under fair labor conditions, and a portion of the proceeds goes to help organizations like the Breast Cancer Emergency Fund. Best of all, they look amazing!

I’m thinking bridesmaid gifts myself! I know my girls will appreciate owning a purse that not only holds their wallet, but helps make the planet a better place at the same time.

3 responses

  1. Jen

    That rubix cube purse?! Awesome!!! 🙂

    September 16, 2010 at 3:25 PM

  2. Honestly, my best suggestion when it comes to flowers is to hire a trusted florist and share your vision. The color scheme sounds great, but I think only a florist can give you a really accurate picture of how those flowers can best be arranged together and whether it will work. Interview two or three florists, explaining the vision to each one and getting suggestions. Then, go with the one whose perspective most meshes with yours. Our florist gave me ideas about flower combinations I never would have considered!

    September 16, 2010 at 3:29 PM

  3. Alicia

    I am missing you. Please come back to Twitter.

    September 16, 2010 at 11:16 PM

Leave a Reply

