Upgrade to a Bride's Maid!

The Light and Dark Side of Fabulous {Fashion}

Welcome to Friday! If you’ve been hanging out with us all week then you know the blog has been featuring two posts per day – one regular and one Halloween-inspired.  What did you think of that format? Was it workin’ for you or a waste of space?  Just trying to gear up and plan for the other holidays right around the corner!

Regardless of your answer, today is just one post.  Everything is rolled up into one – the light and the dark.  Also, you’ll notice it’s not titled “Friday Pretties” as usual.  I’ve decided I don’t really like that moniker and am trying to think of something new for this particular feature once the face-lifted site launches.  Input welcome and appreciated!

Let’s get going, we have a lot of ground to cover…. starting with the Light Side of Fabulous.

~~~~~~~~~~

You knew it would start with dresses right? I’m pretty predictable.  Here are my five favorite dresses EVER! Well… my five favorite dresses this week. 

J. Crew Vintage Lace | Vivienne Westwood Gold Label | Alice + Olivia |
J. Crew Cupcake Crepe and Lace | Milly

~~~~~~~~~~

Let’s call this section limbo… a nice, easy, STUNNING transition from the light into the dark.  The following pictures are from Jessica and Vito’s wedding in Philadelphia.  “Fabulous” is an understatement, and it’s a perfect example of how to have an edgy, moody wedding and still be glam. GLAM, I tell you!

Take note of all the details ~ from the graveyard photos, the checkerboard theme, skeleton keys, and the to-die-for (no pun intended) gown.

Photography: Marie Labbancz | Gown: Pronovias | Bridesmaids shoes: L.A.M.B. |
Jewelry: handmade by the bride | Hair and Makeup:  Claudia Seyler| Cemetery:  Laurel Hill Cemetery|
Ceremony + Reception:  College of Physicians

~~~~~~~~~~

Welcome to the Dark Side… of Fabulous.
My love for anything Alexander McQueen has never been a secret, especially not here.  This is the first collection since his death, designed flawlessy by his former assistant of 14 years – Sarah Burton.

I love this ‘tattered’ dress with the white peeking through – perfect for Halloween.

 

This last one is my favorite – I could eat, sleep, live in that kimono.  I’d probably have to because I wouldn’t be able to afford rent after I bought it! Eye candy is free, though.

~~~~~~~~~~

One more note on the Dark Side ~ no, I don’t know why that girl looks so angry.  She’s wearing McQueen for goodness sake! Oh well, it adds to the edge. So. There you have it.  Favorites? Hates? And what are you doing for Halloween?

Have a great weekend!

~~~~~~~~

Follow us on
Twitter | Facebook

6 responses

  1. Alicia

    While I think the graveyard wedding made for great pics, I just think graveyards and weddings do not mix. It seems like a bad omen.

    October 29, 2010 at 2:22 PM

  2. Jen

    Girl I am loving that vivienne westward gown. And I want that Alice and Olivia dress for the reception.

    October 29, 2010 at 5:44 PM

  3. Your top five dresses are FANTASTIC. I love the fourth and fifth best!!

    October 30, 2010 at 1:04 PM

  4. Wow wow WOW to everything in this post! I am in love with that champagne ruffled dress up top. That is a st-stu-STUNNA!

    October 30, 2010 at 1:52 PM

  5. really loving your dress round up! Happy weekend! xoxo

    October 31, 2010 at 12:36 AM

  6. Tyra Banks would go batty on the model in McQueen. It looks like the same exact facial expression was Photoshopped on every look! Why?!?!

    But I am loving on that second McQ dress…the half-lace, half-solid top. WANT 😦

    November 1, 2010 at 1:00 PM

Leave a Reply

