Upgrade to a Bride's Maid!

The Princess Bride + Her Gown

Do you know the man in this picture with Princess Diana?

It’s Bruce Oldfield – the rumored designer of Princess-to-be Catherine Middleton’s wedding gown.  It is so strongly rumored, in fact, that Paddy Power has stopped taking bets on who will create the focal point of the Spring 2011 Royal Wedding. Mr. Oldfield has been a top name in couture-wear in London for 30+ years, dressing the elite on both sides of the pond.

If he has been chosen to make Kate’s dress – what do you think?  His work is definitely beautiful but I am – and always have been – a traditionalist at heart, so of course I like it.  Regarding the ‘lack of elegance’ in our current culture, he told the U.K.’s Daily Mail in 2008: “…there don’t seem to be any role models among the younger women”.  Well there certainly is now, isn’t there? 🙂

Kate has proven time and again that she knows how to dress; she stays fashionable, age-appropriate, and beautiful at all times.  She has also proven she desires to be taken more seriously by reverting back to her given name of Catherine ( I prefer Kate! It suits her).  In light of all this, plus Bruce Oldfield’s affiliation with Kate’s late mother-in-law,  I think she’s made a great choice.  Oh that’s right ~ if a choice has really been made.

So what would he do for Kate’s dress? “Kate has such a gorgeous figure that she would look stunning in anything,” says Oldfield.  “I would design a simple silhouette with sufficient detailing to give it a sense of occasion, but not so much as to drown her slight frame. Her dress might be traditional and elegant, possibly even demure, but I’m sure she would want a modern twist; a nod to fashion.” People

~~~~~~~~

Thoughts?  Who are/were you hoping for?  I admittedly do not know much about British designers, but  I like what I’m seeing.  I think Bruce Oldfield could stay in line with what a princess should look like and the bride’s usual fashion-forward style.

~~~

Join us on
Twitter | Facebook | Tumblr

8 responses

  1. Those are the most BEAUTIFUL gowns!

    December 4, 2010 at 6:07 PM

  2. With as much hype as this wedding is going to get, Oldfield is gonna need to step up his game in a BIG way. These dresses won’t cut it for a PRINCESS!!!

    December 5, 2010 at 1:17 PM

    • Well OBVIOUSLY he’s not going to make her wear one of these ‘commoner’ gowns! 😉 I would fail as a Princess b/c I would need to try on stuff to even know what I liked. What if I drew it, he made it, and then it looked like ass on me?

      December 5, 2010 at 1:26 PM

  3. Ivory Pearl Bridal Mall

    I love these dresses. Very modern! Just the right modern touch for a modern princess.

    December 5, 2010 at 1:28 PM

  4. I am such a royalist that I check for the latest news on the royal wedding. Would love to go to England after the wedding…too many tourist before but at least everyone will be happy for awhile…I think!

    December 5, 2010 at 11:38 PM

    • Naomi I have an American friend living in London right now for grad school and she absolutely loves it! Before catching her enthusiasm I’d never really cared to go to England. Maybe one day…

      December 5, 2010 at 11:51 PM

  5. I agree with Hollie. I think her dress is going to need to be waaaay more over the top. Too many eyes are going to be watching her. I picture something more Oscar worthy than your typical wedding dress….but off-white, of course!

    December 6, 2010 at 7:07 PM

  6. Nicole, I never thought I’d love England but I ended up living in London for 7 years and ABSOLUTELY loved it!!! There is so much to do and see and it has so many layers to it!! HOpe you get the chance to go one day!

    December 7, 2010 at 2:13 AM

Leave a Reply

