Upgrade to a Bride's Maid!

Giving Good Hair

A certain level of DIY is wonderful, whether it’s for your wedding or just life in general.  However, it does take up a lot of time, can be stressful, and threatens to leave a bride in hysterics if it doesn’t go right and there’s no back-up plan! Having said all that I’m somewhat hesitant to go forward with this post…

But I will. 🙂 Below are three hairstyles I really like, with step-by-step pictures and a link to instructions. Do I think you should do your own wedding day hair? Only if you/family/an attendant style hair for a living or you’ve practiced a gajillion times beforehand with great results. 

The Top Knot ~

As a bride who wore her hair up in a classic style, I love the elegance of this ‘do.  It would also be ideal if you’re having an outdoor wedding in hot months or want to dance a lot!
{No sweaty hair sticking to your neck/face!}

2. Half and Half ~

Very romantic! I think I’ll try it this weekend, just for fun. Very simple, but if it suits your hair, face, dress, and wedding feel then it can be just perfect.

3. Front French Braid ~

French braids are so beautiful and I love this modern twist. I want to do this so badly but my hair is not quite long enough yet!  If you click the link above, you will see Maegan’s video tutorials
~ (of …love Maegan – she’s on the right) ~ 
for both the full braid and the braid with waves/curls at the bottom.

***

So, what are you doing with your hair? You’re having a trial right? It’s so important! Just because you like a style doesn’t mean it will look great on you! Also, if at all possible, bring your veil with you so your stylist will know everything he/she has to work with.

 

10 responses

  1. Oh how I wish I could do no 2 to even resemble that!!

    January 24, 2011 at 6:07 AM

    • Me too…I’m gonna give it a go this Saturday. If I don’t share pics, then you know what happened. 😉

      January 24, 2011 at 2:25 PM

  2. I would be scared to do it but number 2 is gorgeous!

    January 24, 2011 at 12:06 PM

  3. hahahahaa your title. silly. Anyway, love these step by steps but refuse to do my own hair. I’m not coordinated/patient enough. I envy brides who are hair talented!!

    January 24, 2011 at 1:52 PM

    • I feel you! I am soooooooooo the opposite of “hair talented”. I DID do my own make-up. 🙂 Even if I was a hairstylist for a living I don’t think I would be brave enough to do my own hair…there’s just too much at stake! I believe hairspray can fix anything, though – it’s like frosting.

      January 24, 2011 at 2:25 PM

  4. Really wish my hair weren’t so curly. These are so great! Too bad the styles would disappear in the tangle of my hair/ChakaKhan nest I was blessed to own… 😦

    January 24, 2011 at 9:57 PM

    • The grass is always greener, isn’t it? I would love to have a ChakaKhan nest! 😉 Or at least be able to duplicate it whenever I wanted to.

      January 24, 2011 at 10:15 PM

  5. oh i LOVE the second one – and only wish my braids would look that pretty!

    January 24, 2011 at 10:04 PM

    • French braids are my official “bad hair day” look – no matter what’s wrong on top of my head a braid usually fixes it! As soon as my hair is long enough I’ll be doing the frontal!

      January 24, 2011 at 10:16 PM

  6. Love the half and half, Ive always wanted the top part of my hair to look that good with volume but it never does! Great DIY pictures.

    January 25, 2011 at 5:40 PM

Leave a Reply

